Nestling at the foot of the southern slopes of the Mendip Hills in Somerset, the parish of Compton Bishop comprises the settlements of Cross, Newtown, Rackley, Webbington and of course Compton Bishop itself.

Compton Bishop nestles in an unspoilt area of outstanding natural beauty (AONB), visited by many who appreciate the beautiful breath-taking scenery. The parish has a network of more than 13 miles of well-used public footpaths, bridleways and permissive paths which provide a wonderful variety of routes with Crook Peak and Wavering Down dominating the sky-line. This area of The Mendip Hills is owned and cared for by the National Trust and provides a peaceful recreational space for all who visit.

This web site provides information on local groups, items of local interest as well as all Parish Council information, minutes, etc.

We would be very please to hear your comments and suggestions regarding this site. Please use the 'Contact Us' tab on the side panel.


Parish News Link

Would you be interested in receiving an email immediately important issues arise that impact on you or your community?

For example;

  • Planning, Highways and Environment issues.
  • Presentations or talks on subjects of special interest in and around your area.
  • Reminders of social events in the Parish.
  • Recent other example of where you may have benefitted from swift contact;
  • Theft of dogs in neighbouring areas.
  • Theft of sheep in neighbouring areas.
  • Stalking of children.

If you are interested click HERE to contact me stating your address

Your details will remain strictly confidential

 Maggie Pritchard

Compton Bishop Parish Councillor  


National Grid's plans for massive pylons over the Somerset Countryside.

The Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change has given her approval to National Grid Plc's application for a Development Consent Order to link Hinkley C to Avonmouth. While the line will go underground through the Lox Yeo Valley, it will be predominantly overhead on the new (and untested) 'T Pylons'.

Residents will be faced with 5+ years of construction with a legacy of pylons running south, over the Sommerset Levels to Hinkley and a Sealing End Compound south of Crook Peak.

Campaigners are dismayed at The Governments lack of foresight when approving old-style technology, failure to adequately inderstand the impact on The People and disregard to the legacy left for future generations.